## Rysen of style

## **GOVERNMENT** BRANCHES

The US Constitution defines the structure and responsibilities of the federal government. The federal government consists of three branches: Executive, Legislative, and Judicial. Each of these branches has a specific responsibility, none more important than the other. By giving each branch an equal role, the framers of the Constitution tried to ensure that no single branch of government would become too powerful. This system is commonly called "checks and balances." Rhode Island's state government has a similar structure and division of responsibilities.

